Burgas Free University (BFU) is a modern educational institution established with an act of the Great National Assembly on 18 September 1991. It is one of the first non-state universities in Bulgaria, established in the biggest industrial and cultural centre in the south-eastern region of the country. Burgas Free University (BFU) has four faculties:

  • Faculty of Business Studies,
  • Faculty of Legal Studies,
  • Faculty of Humanities and 
  • Faculty of Computer Science and Engineering.

BFU provides training of more than 4,000 students /full-time and part-time/ in 19 Bachelor’s and 40 Master’s degree programmes. The graduates of BFU are over 20,000. BFU is certified under ISO 9001:2000 and under ISO 9001:2008. It is a member of the European University Association. BFU is accredited by the National Evaluation and Accreditation Agency in Bulgaria. BFU maintains contacts with more than 470 universities and organizations all over the world and has signed Agreements for Cooperation with 63 universities and academic institutions in Europe, Asia, America and Africa.

The University has been involved in more than 70 joint European projects under the Tempus and Lifelong Learning Programme.

Website: www.bfu.bg